Garden memories

Another dull day today, but I took a ride to Dunollie with Mrs M at lunchtime to force myself to walk home! As usual I walked along the beach and as usual I took too many pictures - 65 today. The light was catching the 'Coruisk' as she swerved into the bay so I've put her on as an extra. Typically the sun came out much later on just when we were coming in for dinner!

My Blip today is of the 'Hebridean Princess', lying at her berth beside the Manor House Hotel on the far side of the bay.  After her first life as MV Columba, a CalMac ferry, she became a small cruise ship operated by Hebridean Island Cruises, based strangely in Skipton, North Yorkshire, that well-known seaport!!

A few years ago I was invited as lecturer and tour guide on board as she sailed on a cruise to 'Gardens of the West Coast'. I didn't get paid, but Mrs M and I enjoyed a lovely holiday visiting gardens from Arduaine - where I was working - to Inverewe, with others on Skye, Mull and elsewhere. Wonderful! Unfortunately these opportunities ceased with my retirement! Good to look back on though. I've been asked by the Scotland's Gardens' Scheme to do a Zoom presentation in January which I've titled 'A Gardener's World', and I'm going to enjoy dredging up pictures of all the things I've done and places I've been in my gardening life! A lot of work, but fun, I hope!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.