The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

A taste of normality

In the morning, I got a WhatsApp from a friend, asking me if I wanted to go to an afternoon concert in Nailsworth. Did I ever? I missed the February 2020 concert because I had flu-like symptoms after returning from Germany. I'm pretty sure there hasn't been one since then. Too risky.

The highly professional Bristol Ensemble has returned to Nailsworth, and intends to keep up the programme of one Sunday afternoon concert per month. Hurrah! The venue is a large United Reformed Church (much more daylight in this type of building than in the high churches of my youth) that also has balcony seating. We were lucky enough to get front row seats. The musicians were a violin player, a viola player, a flautist and a cellist, and the programmed comprised works by Haydn, Beethoven and Mozart. I particularly enjoyed the fourth movement of the Beethoven (the programme is upstairs, that's why I can't be more specific). Afterwards, a superb home baked tea was laid on in the hall next door, as usual. What relief to do something normal again! I did of course wear a mask throughout the concert (most people didn't, and there wasn't a person in the church under 50 years old) and the side door was kept open. We felt very well ventilated.

Later, I snapped this sunset in our street. I must have done something else as well on Sunday, but this is a backblip and I can't remember.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.