We woke to mistiness this morning but went to climb at Holyhead Mountain anyway. It took us a while to get there because, although we couldn't see where we were headed, a couple of members thought they knew the way... they were proved wrong.

Dave started up the first route, but his ankle was really giving him some pain so he came down. I decided that I would do it, but a couple of metres up thought better of it and down climbed. Dave's ankle had recovered a little bit and he knew the moves, so he started up again and was soon over the slabby part and onto the more juggy section. It was rather awkward at the top though and I'd have hated leading it... but it was fine following on a rope!

I did lead the next one though and thoroughly enjoyed it. There were a couple of other routes that I'd got my eye on, but the cloud was getting thicker and wetter and, another route later we called it a day. The rock will still be there when we come back another time.

Dinner at The Paddlers Return on site tonight. I had a beetroot burger - which was nice but didn't taste of beetroot - salad and chips, and a pint and a half of Worthingtons.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.