*¨*:•Everyday Magic•:*¨*

By Squatbetty

As a snail in a shell...

"I have lived so long among people who do not understand me or sympathise with me, been so long accustomed to refrain and disguise myself for fear of being laughed at, that I have grown as difficult to come at as a snail in a shell; and what is worse, I cannot come out of my shell when I wish it."

One of my beachcombing finds in Wester Ross, it's become an annual challenge to find the tiniest shells I can. This is pretty small but I have even diddier ones in my collection.

The beautiful quotation is from a letter written by Jane Welsh Carlyle and really hit home. I think a lot of introverts and people living with autism and neurodiversity feel this way. I do peep out of my shell more these days though :-)

Highlands back-blip is here:
A seat with a view

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.