Bullrushes and Buckeyes

There were no earthmovers /rock crushers next door this morning. Nor did someone from Akron Ohio call us at 7am. The workers at the forever unfinished house don't usually show up until afternoon. All was calm and peaceful. We slept for an extra ten minutes.

Spring Lake was also calm and peaceful. The early risers seem to be an unusually cheerful lot as we were greeted with smiles and good mornings by several people. One couple in crocheted striped hats which caught my eye struck me as being on a mission to spread cheer to the whoever they met with extra cheer. The pre-coffee cynical me thought it was a bit much, but as we continued on our way I realized that it was actually working.

We took the all-the-way-around-the -lake route today which we used to do all the time but haven't done since Covid changed everybody's life forever. I feel like I have aged 10 years since that first lockdown decended upon us on my birthday, March 2020. Or was it 2019? Maybe it WAS ten years ago. Ah well, it was great to be doing something we used to do all the time. One of the things that was holding us  back from our lake walks was John's broken leg. Another was our uncertainty about how Spike would behave. Both issues have resolved with some patience. John not only strode out all the way around the lake, but Spike excitedly sniffed his way around without charging any passing dogs or people. It was a lovely morning.

Since we walked all the way around the lake, we met several of the people we had met at the beginning of our walk at some point half way round. This included the super happy couple in the stripey hats. This time she admired my haircut (bed head, actually, since we had fallen out of bed, into our clothes and out the door) and I admired their hats and told her she had made my day. At which point he said, 'no, you made your own day because I can tell that you are a happy person'. I thanked him and moved on...My cynical self was slightly reawakened until I thought, 'he didn't seem to have any ulterior motive other than to be cheerful and maybe he was right, maybe I AM a happy person and just needed to be reminded'....

John and Dan bottled their brew today. The picture Dan sent me is in extras....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.