Beinghere

By Beinghere

Wolfsbane, Beautiful, but Deadly

I found a large patch of Wolfsbane (or Monkshood) near the woods I often walk in. Luckily I knew not to touch it as I had seen a small specimen a few months ago and looked it up then. It is extremely poisonous. If ingested it is typically fatal.

In Greek myth Wolfsbane originated from the toxic slobber of a three-headed dog, named Cerberus, the scary guardian to the gates of Hell.

In the Dark Ages it was said to be used by witches in spells and potions, and was one of several ingredients for an ointment that, when applied to a broom, could facilitate flight.

In the Middle Ages, when wolves and werewolves were a genuine fear in Europe, frightened folks turned to growing Wolfsbane as superstitions said that werewolves could be repelled by the plant, or even tamed by it.

I’m off to tame a werewolf, or if I can’t find one, I will just oil up my broomstick and head for the skies.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.