Ingleman

By Ingleman

Touching Base

Cor what a day it was today... 

Another day at the coalface, with an early start to make absolutely sure we got wet. It was torrential rain at 08.00 and I couldn't hear Gary speaking due to the roar from the rain thundering on the garage and conservatory roof.

I, (rather pathetically, I thought) asked if we were going 'to work in this?'

His grin was demonic. Pure evil and it was made clear that the show goes on whatever the weather. 'Welcome to my world' was his closing remark.

So, me shovelling and mixing, he, barrowing, pouring and tamping.

It did stop raining at 10.00 o'clock, the sun came out and we whistled while we worked. By 12 00 o'clock the base was laid. Nearly three tons of sand, gravel, cement and water, mixed, barrowed, poured and tamped. The mess was hideous. Mrs I went out with Hollie to escape the carnage. But we did it, and after I had spent the afternoon cleaning up and taking the accumulated rubbish to the council waste facility it was time for tea. And a shower, and a little tipple to celebrate.

The base is laid and and the blip is my shadow standing in the doorway to the extension, reflecting on a tough but satisfying day.

Two rest days now before the next lot of mixing for the brick and block work. Can't wait. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.