Friday's photograph...

A bit of a disaster here.
A couple of days ago the starlings visited again. But the only thing was, it was the entire murmuration of starlings landed in my garden, and the air was thick, full of fighting squabbling starlings. I have seen squabbling fighting starlings before but nothing like this. Alfred Hitchcock should have seen this if he wanted to make a proper bird movie. It was absolutely terrifying. And I am watching from behind my bedroom window. I threw things at them but they just landed again. Finally I got rid of them, but it felt just a step away of of being torn apart and pecked clean by starlings.

I brought the fatball feeders back in again. I didn't want to stop feeding all my sparrows and small birds. I was racking my brains how to make the feeders starling proof. Finally, as an emergency solution, I taped 3/4 of the top bit of the feeders, and that appears to have solved the problem. The starlings cannot land on the feeders any more, and so they have gone.

I had looked online for starling proof feeders. And I found there was a cheaper version more locally. It had a clear domed top. But when I went to the store, they were all on the unreachable top shelf. And, they were all broken. So, I imagine old biddies like me probably used their walking sticks or crutches to get them down, as there are no assistants available any more to do these things like getting unreachables down off the top shelf for you. But, at least I was not responsible for those broken ones. (I have to say, every time I have used one of my crutches to get an unreachable my catching skills of the item are remarkable, and once I encountered another old lady doing exactly the same thing, but she was shorter than me and her stick was too short, so I offered my assistance with one of my crutches, she had the job of catcher and we both cheered when we succeeded).

I have realised what I have done has worked, at no cost apart from a few strips of duct tape. Very useful stuff is duct tape.

Right, my creative for today. The sky through my net curtains, fartnarkled just a tad in Snapseed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.