BRIANW

By BRIANW

Do Not Bend The Bends, Aylesford

Now I know I should say the best Radiohead album, the most critically lauded, their starmaker, the one that cemented their brilliance,  is OK Computer but I have to admit that I love The Bends more. Street Spirit (Fade Out) is one of my all time favourite tracks and I just love that whole album's bristling, squalling, inventive, discordant yet melodic sound. I've often played it full blast in my studio at work and it still feels exhilarating now over twenty five years since it first came out.
Every few months I either buy my CDs on a visit to Resident Music in Brighton itself (pre pandemic) or from their website. The store itself is in the North Laine area and it's old school in that the staff are on the standoffish side but you can't argue with their taste and their beautifully succinct reviews of new releases. I've bought more albums off spec from them than anywhere else so the must be doing something right!
Today's image, of course, hides the "DO NOT" part of the package I get with every delivery of a CD from this store so I had to use it in the title for my shot.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.