monochrome

By monochrome

Sunday Supermarket Shopping

Woke up with a slightly fuzzy head this morning, after drinking a bottle of wine to myself last night (not in a sad, lonely kind of way - I fancied a glass of wine while watching a DVD, and, what with the missus being pregnant, she stuck to the Appletiser (incidentally, when the hell did Appletise cease to be Appletise and become Appletiser?!! That's just wrong, as it clearly has no relation to Tizer), which turned into two glasses, and then finally the bottle).

Having cleared out a lot of stuff from the loft yesterday, I had also attempted to cut up an old disused water-tank which must have been up there ever since the house was built. It was one of those big steel jobbies, 3mm thick on all sides, and my three-quarter-of-an-hour's worth of hacking away at it with a flimsy Homebase "Value" hacksaw made no visible dent in it at all. I mentioned to the wife that perhaps I needed a new power tool (read: gadget) capable of making light work of the cutting, which was dismissed with a phone call to her dad, who happened to have the very tool for the job, and arranged to come around with it.

So, as promised, the in-laws came round this morning complete with the necessary power tools (and backup "plan B" tools if required), and we set about waking the neighbours at the semi-reasonable hour of 11am with the almighty sound of a circular saw on steel (I still have a ringing in my right ear). The whole thing was cut up in minutes, however countless years of oxidation had made a right bloody mess of the inside of the tank, and the cutting process spewed out a thick cloud of red-rusty quite-possibly-carcinogenic dust. So, after sweeping up the dust and general mess, and transporting the panels of cut-up tank downstairs, I loaded up the car with all the junk and made another trip to the dump.

After returning from the dump, we were off to B&Q for a few things for the garden, followed by Tesco for the weekly food shopping (where I took my only photo of the day, as pictured above). All in all quite a productive day.

Also back-blipped for yesterday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.