A New Book

I decided to go through all the black and white images I've made over the last 16 years and choose 100.  That was not easy.  I did work more exclusively in monochrome from 2005 - 2011.  I made a "coffee table" book, which is really funny since I don't have a coffee table, but I wanted a large format book; this is 12X12 inches.  This is a collage of the front cover, the back cover and a two page spread.  I rarely do black and white anymore and I should go back to it once in awhile.  There is something about the monochrome image that is timeless and removing the color lets you really enjoy the structure of the image, the lines and shapes, the contrasts.  The absence of color allows concentrating on the subject without any distracting elements.  This is especially true in portraits, “When you photograph people in color, you photograph their clothes. But when you photograph people in Black and white, you photograph their souls!” - Ted Grant  (I've added an extra of one of my favorite portraits and a street photograph from Paris.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.