Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Hungry robins

The robins in the reserve were very hungry this morning.  As I walked across the park to the entrance I could feel that although there was no frost underfoot the ground was iron hard.  At the time I got there (early) there were no people around, no birds or creatures to see and the sun was blocked by a bar of cloud.  However, I was there a couple of hours, and about half way through light flooded the reedbed, at which point several robins, each in their individual territories, decided I looked a soft touch for mealworms.  Oh how I love them.

But, most exciting of all was the kingfisher!  I'd been told it was there, but didn't know where to look.  Now I've identified the strip of river it's fishing.  Its blue and orange looked glorious in the golden light.  No decent shots yet, but something to look out for this winter.

Meanwhile, this sweet and very cold looking robin makes a pretty subject for today.  I actually ran out of mealworms this trip, so bussed up to the garden centre to get more before I came home.

Thanks for all your lovely comments and stars yesterday.  How very kind you are.  It was a very happy day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.