The Struggle

Thought that I'd have a tough time of choosing a blip today. I took lots of photos at Kanapaha Botanical Gardens, as Fletch and I were walking. They were mostly all flowers, until we got to the large pond! We spotted a female Anhinga in the water under the little bridge. As I watched she came up with a tiny fish in her bill, I mean really tiny! Then she dove again and came up with a slightly larger fish, threw back her head and tossed it down her throat. Meanwhile, of course, I'm shooting! She swam around underwater for a while then surfaced with a large Sunfish. I've seen Anhingas swallow impossibly large fish, so I followed her as she struggled to keep hold on her catch. A couple of times it managed to get loose but she dove and came up with it again. She finally reached a smooth rock platform just before some small falls. There the age old struggle continued. I didn't think to time the 'struggle', but it seemed to take forever, I just kept shooting.
She worked and worked to 'quiet' the fish and get it into position to swallow. Do take a look at the photos in the *extras. Now my only task was to edit all those photos and share these with you!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.