Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Illuminating

Today's been glorious - perfect winter weather, with none of the chilly wind that made yesterday so perishing. Sitting in bed looking out at the Firth of Clyde as it gradually lit under a peach-coloured sky had the effect - slightly annoying, if I'm honest - of making me restless, so that I was up and doing rather earlier than I'd intended after yet another late night. So two washings - including towels - were out drying on the line (and they did, more or less) before coffee, and a strangely wet sourdough was trying to rise in a warm place (I was distracted at the measuring-out stage). The morning ended with a quick walk up to church to change the figures in the crèche so that the Magi are no longer lurking in the wings and the donkey and the cow have gone (because the gospel story says the Magi came to "the house" - though I didn't remove the straw this time!). Himself was having a wee practice, so we ran through the anthem for Sunday before heading home for hot soup.

Later, we had a walk at Toward - one of the go-to places for the sunset. Clouds were beginning to form over the inland hills and lurking over the Arran hills, but the brilliance of the light made everything look like a stage set, and I took so many photos I was hard pushed to choose. The one above won out because of the way the light lies on the beach as well as that line of fire on the water. It was all gone by the time I was back in the car.

An illuminating footnote to the day: On our way home I wanted to post a card to a friend, and stopped at my usual post-box. When I threw the card in, in my usual nonchalant fashion, it promptly bounced back out again - and I realised that the pillar-box was stuffed to the top with boxes of PCR test kits. Right enough, this is our designated post-box for these things - but really? Ether the postman is isolating, or half the population of Dunoon has been told to test ... Alarming, really.

I went to another post box.

Been meaning to say that #2 son has begun blipping again after being an original investor, apparently. Will he keep it up this time?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.