Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Sun, snow and skiing

Everything went well with our travel arrangements yesterday, and using that app VeriFLY made it quite easy to access the required forms and documents. We only got to the apartment at about 11pm so it was a late night, and then we were up early this morning to get going for the day.

We went to pick up our skis from the rental shop and then went up the mountain. I did not feel at all comfortable on the gondola going up the mountain with so many other people in there - although the maximum number has been significantly reduced and it was no worse than when I have travelled on the London underground. It was not very busy today, I think most of the holiday people have gone home now. Gavin had a work zoom meeting this morning so he only came up later and Luke, Tommy and Inca skied with me until he could come up. As I have not skied for some time, and I never was a good skier to start with, I felt nervous today and my technique was just awful, leaning back all the time, so by the end of the day my thighs were burning. A good leg workout but rubbish technique!

The day started sunny, in fact we saw a beautiful sunrise as we got up this morning (first extra) and it was not nearly as cold as I expected - it was -9C which is not cold when you are all trussed up in your warm ski clothing. By midday the best of the sunshine had gone to be replaced by flat light. Gavin and I skied down to the village after lunch, and Luke came shortly after as he only took the morning off work and was working this afternoon. Tommy and Inca had a full day of skiing and loved it. This image was taken when skiing back down to the village, I always love skiing amongst the trees.

When we got back to the village Gavin and I went grocery shopping, and to do some admin things in the village. Now we are busy cooking supper and it will be a lazy evening relaxing.

All good news from Fi regarding Xena. She seems to have settled in well and is enjoying the company from Fi's own Vizsla who seemed very happy to let Xena sleep in his bed! I was worried she would howl last night being in a strange place but apparently she whimpered a bit and then settled down. I am getting lots of videos and photos which is great.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.