Plenty of varieTea?

One fraction of my Christmas present from "The other Branch" of the Clan was an assortment of Teas.  The first one I tried was Lapsang Suchong, the packet of which informed me that it was "An acquired taste.  A Chinese tea with the scent of wood-burning fire and dense, earth, smokey notes. Brew with water off the boil for 3-5 minutes."
A taste I acquired some years ago.

It reawakened a "Me" I had long forgotten.  MANY moons/years ago, Al and I used to visit Carlisle, Kendal and Lancaster on a somewhat infrequent rota.  
We often had a brew in John Watt's, who has a mighty range of brews, which I sampled periodically.  The receipt of these reminded me of the metaphorical "Dreg ends" of some Pu-Erh I;ve had so long the label, in the dark of the cupboard has bleached beyond reading. - BUT - having researched it recently it appears to improve on keeping, like a good wine. (And me?) ;¬) 
It didn't taste any worse.  I've tried to find an advert for wine(?) where a "Snob" tells what he's "getting"  the put-down mentioned something like "pretentious overtones of ?????" Lost it.
IF you can put up with this chap for the first 8-10 mins you'll get the idea…
But, apparently, Pu-Erh has all manner of "alleged" health benefits.  I got fed up hearing about things "Erbal" and couldn't find a Brit with Herbs.
If you really want to know how it differs from "Tea" and have about 20 spare minutes this bloke does it well.

Another thing awakened -my memory of the fact of the existence of the extra.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.