Crane

In the evening I travelled into town for my Tai Chi class which has resumed back in the school hall we use for practice. I am hopeful that things will work out and I will be able to attend a full term of in-person classes rather than having to switch between in-person and online.  It’s good to be back in the hall although, with the current recommendations to have indoor public spaces well ventilated, it can be quite cold as all the windows are open. I still don’t remember the whole of the short form which I think is a bit shocking given how long I’ve been at this.

On the walk back to the station I noticed this crane. Has this always been here? I  must have other pictures of this area but I simply don’t recall it. It doesn’t look temporary - or even in use. It seems like a monument to something past. I’m surprised I don’t recall it.  I quick bit of research suggests that it is, indeed, very much in use. It’s used to get parts into the Waterloo and City line train depot below because that line is not connected to anything else.  Apparently, it is not big enough to raise and lower the trains themselves.

I really do like a night picture.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.