This is the day

By wrencottage

Lichen

It was another very chilly, grey, overcast day and I was doubtful about finding a suitable subject for today's blip on our afternoon walk. However, I quite liked the look of this lichen-coloured stone bollard which I thought would add a bit of much-needed colour.

On our way home, about a hundred yards from our house, I suddenly spotted ... guess what ... you've guessed it ... my husband's lost scarf! It had been flung over the railings of a garden a few houses up from ours, and I nearly walked past without seeing it. 

The detective in me has worked out that we walked on our side of the road on Monday, when he lost the scarf, because it was an afternoon walk, and therefore frost-free, but from Tuesday to Thursday we walked in the morning, so we crossed over the road to the sunny side of the street to avoid slipping on the frosty pavement. That's why we didn't spot the scarf hanging on the railings. Personally, I think it was just an elaborate ploy to justify him buying a new scarf!!!

Photographic proof of discovery in the extras.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.