... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

Chirpy Chaffinch

Back blip... Our phone line is down ("Thank you BT: your fibreoptic connection is an improvement, when it works...") so I'm posting this via mobile.

Yesterday was beautiful: there was still a mean chill in the air, but it certainly looked like spring.
I took photographs of Mr. and Mrs. Goosle at the usual time in the morning (no goslings yet...), and went for an amble on Wandsworth Common in the middle of the afternoon; I found the bright, warm light so refreshing! I photographed an interesting and beautiful white hybrid mallard (what its other parent was, I've no idea), and got nice pictures of the usual suspects on the pond (*sigh* That poor tufted duck is still desperately trying to impress the female mallard...).
I heard this chaffinch before seeing it, and when I spotted it I was surprised by how close it was; I took some quick snapshots in case it flew away, but it seemed pretty chilled, and 'though a barrier prevented me from getting any closer, I enjoyed seeing (and hearing) it up so close, and got quite a few photographs with which I was pleased.
I was torn between this one of it (looking normal but pretty), and two less "formal" ones (one of it preening, and one of it looking straight down which was rather funny).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.