To See New Englandly

By distractedhausfrau

Home Economics

We had an imaginative round of Playmobil today -- daddy was the farmer, I was the grocery clerk, and my daughter was the "mommy shopper." It's quite amazing how my daughter, at not quite four years old, understands the economics of it all. The farmer must milk the cows, and then sell the milk to the grocery. The grocery clerk takes money from the mommy shopper in exchange for the milk, and so on.

Mommy shopper also bought some wine today, pictured here. I said to my daughter, "This is supposed to be water." I assumed that being a European toy, these little green bottles represented some posh sparkling water.

My daughter, who has only ever seen water come either out of the tap or in clear plastic bottles, corrected me and said, "No, this is wine."

"No, honey, it's water." My husband said. "Those are little bottles of water."

My daughter was insistent. "No, the mommy is buying wine."

At least she's got one thing right. Mommy knows it's more economical to buy it by the case.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.