An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Where you goin' mum?

Alan had an appointment at the wheelchair clinic at Ninewells this morning to try out his new wheelchair.  It's been a long time coming!

Originally should have been here in September, then November then January.  We were beginning to think it didn't exist, but Mandy contacted us just before Christmas to say fingers crossed it would be delivered to them by the end of last week.  And it was!  Woo hoo.

David, Alan and Vikki headed off just before 10am and returned just after 1pm with the bold boy sitting grinning in his new chair, in the best seating position I have ever seen him in.  

He always starts off in a good position but he has a strong extensor pattern of movement, which means he pushes himself into a straight position (this is involuntary.  When he was a baby we called him the ironing board! :-)) and when he relaxes (again involuntary) he has slid forward and is sitting with all his weight on the small of his back rather than through his bottom. 

I popped through to chat to him at various points of the afternoon and evening and he was still sitting in a functional and comfortable position.   I asked him if this chair was much better than his old one and got a definite yes!  Here's hoping this continues.

I also received a fabulous bit of kit today.

As you know, it's been impossible for me to spend any time in my studio recently due to hip pain and sciatica.  Sitting for longer than 20 mins in any chair with a seat firmer than an armchair cushion has caused me problems over the past year.  I end up with increased hip pain and deep, burning aches in my left buttock.  I have tried various cushions on my office chair and my wheels, but none have worked.  I had a final trawl of Amazon the other day and found a gel seat cushion with a honeycomb design that supposedly relieves back, coccyx pain pressure for use in a car, office chair, wheelchair and dining chair. It comes with a non-slip seat cover.  It arrived today....

...and WOW!  The difference is amazing!  

I managed to spend over two hours in the study getting things sorted for creative work to begin hopefully in the next few days.  I have a special card to make for K, the daughter of my friend Ann who sadly passed away recently, two paintings for friends, the Christmas Chookie Birdies to complete and a card project I've been asked to think about by a friend that I will say more about once I've had a proper conversation with her and fleshed out what exactly it is she is looking for.  

So that to do and some experimenting with different mediums I want to do for my own satisfaction.  It's going to be a busy time, cushion permitting!  :-)

Today's blip is Lola hanging over the back of the sofa in the garden room looking for cuddles as I headed to the kitchen for a cuppa.  Either that or she was hoping I would bring her back a dog biscuit!  lol

N.B. Yesterday evening I was saddened to receive an email advising me that Art Tutor website is closing.  I've enjoyed many of their tutorials and will miss their regular emails.  Before they close the site, they are offering a 75% discount on all of their downloadable tutorials.  I purchased seven of them for just over £50.  Full price they would have been over £200!   

If you are interested in any of the courses you must purchase them by Friday 28th January and download them by 31st March. You can find them at www.arttutor.com

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.