a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Winter Sun

As you can see, I was rewarded with a glorious start to the sunset for about 15 minutes.  This is looking uphill, and was taken "just in case" as the light conditions were rapidly changing.  I noticed that the sun was going to be framed between this small club of trees so stopped to take this shot, before continuing with my walk up to the ridge point. 

I had hoped to get a better shot once I was over the ridge, as the land drops away beyond, with some lines of low hills between this point and Chew Lake that could have looked interesting in the last of the evening light.   I need not have bothered, by the time I got over the ridge just 10 minutes later the sun went behind low clouds and never came back.  Things did go nice and pink after that, but I rather like this one.

I've deliberately chosen to slightly under expose this shot, to make the most of the magic in the sky, and not burn out any of the sun's rays through the clouds.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.