Wound up in Wexford

By Neatwithice

Glass fun

Today we had a chance to play with molten glass, courtesy of a Christmas gift from my daughters.  

We turned up as instructed at 1300, having done the requested lateral flow tests and even reported them to the NHS website (something I have to admit we rarely bother to do).  The guy who was leading the workshop, who didn't introduce himself, but I believe he was the boss, said he was expecting 4 more people - but they never turned up.  So we had the demo, and then got on and each had a go at the actual production.

This is a paperweight during manufacture.  This is W's - which will be streaked with blue and white.  Mine will have a green and red streaky centre.  Both have been left at the works to cool down slowly, and can be collected from Monday afternoon onwards.

It was hot, and fun, but all too brief - I could have enjoyed making several more, which might have allowed me to get more confident and experiment more.  Maybe something for the future - I'm sure we'll find glass artists in Ireland.

PS Woke to a glorious red sky this morning. I'd not have seen it, except W woke at 0500, and when he got up at 0600 he woke me, and I didn't manage to get back to sleep. Eventually gave up trying at about 0645, and W brought me my morning coffee.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.