Underside

Way out of sequence with this blip. Today I took a picture of the underside of the worktop to see how the current taps are attached.

Being able to take a picture like this in awkward location is highly useful - and while not very pretty is a fair example of a diary entry! I was off work again today, but I had another 2 hour meeting with a client and some other tech teams, which was a bit tedious but much more productive that the one on Monday so not a total waste of time.

As you can see there is a rusting locking plate held in place with a large hexagonal coupling nut - which I'll be able to remove with a socket set rather than a fancy plumber's spanner that I don't have. My mother-in-law's kitchen has perfectly good but dark and ugly granite worktops. She thinks they are very funererial - which I don't see, but I don't like brown and they do make the kitchen look very dark.

As a result they are all coming out and will be thrown away as scrap... I can remove the sink and uncouple the gas at the user end, but an actual gas fitter will have to remove the gas pipework so that'll be done later this week. Our electrician will then replace the dodgy wiring with something to specification and we'll have a new kitchen installed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.