Maggie's Quilt

I caught Maggie unawares today ...snapped before she could turn her head away...For some reason, she regards the back of my iPhone, when held in her face, as something sinister and always turns away.... What's with that?

But ..aha...I caught her! ..lounging on her very own quilt.(.every cat should have at least one ...) She likes her many cuddly afghans but she has to share them with me and guests..Her quilt? Not a chance. It is hers...

My friend Mary made it in memory of cats she had known and loved... cats who had gone before ..and who were sadly missed. My much loved cat George was one of those cats featured...so, when Mary was downsizing, and needed a new home for a lot of her stuff, she thought Maggie would be the perfect recipient for that quilt. 

I had adopted Maggie when she was three and no longer welcome in her home...She was  being bullied by her sibling ( brother) and a huge dog in a family too busy to pay her any attention. She was in need of love and a safe, comfortable, secure place of her own. Perhaps that quilt could be a comfort to her?  - a reminder that she was now in a place where cats are loved..loved enough to be featured on a memory quilt! 

It would be nice if Maggie realized the significance of the quilt upon which she lounges, but what really matters is that she loves it....and knows that no other cat or dog is going to come along and chase her off it! 

Security is having your own quilt! 

PS: Today was a good day  -  my post-cataract surgery check-up went really well and I can see so much better today...not perfectly, but better than yesterday!  Progress is being made! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.