Princes Street

There was an early start for me today, as I was going into the office.  TT left very early to go into his work, and I hung back to try and make sure BB was going to get out of his bed.  I now know he didn’t get up very early and in fact got up too late – but  he should have been at school in time – maybe!  It was snowing , and as I walked down the road to the bus stop I was wondering why I was bothering going to the office at all.  However I had arranged to meet up with a couple of colleagues, so didn’t want to let them down.  I have to say that I fell straight back into the role of commuter.  I got on the bus, and read my book – I have really missed that slot in the day, though haven’t missed the commuting!  I was at the office early and discovered that the desk I had booked was not properly equipped.  In fact many desks were not adequately equipped.  Luckily I saw someone who used to work in our team and she came and helped me get myself set up properly – including sourcing a plastic box to put my laptop on! Apart from doing Teams meetings from the office to colleagues at home – which felt really odd, and the fact that the office was practically empty, it felt really normal to be back in the office.   Though the office felt quite grubby and unloved, having sat empty since we were all sent home two years ago 
 
My colleagues appeared later and it was nice to see them in person.  One of them I had never even met in person as she joined our team at some point over the past two years.  I popped out to buy a sandwich at lunchtime, which felt like a novelty, and had planned on a lunchtime wander, but it was perishing, so I didn’t linger.
 
I was really busy all day with the dreaded task, which resulted in me working later than I wanted, especially as I had to go and get a bus home and it was still perishing, damp and windy.    I was frozen waiting at the bus stop.  That is something I have not missed.  I was delighted to get home and find that TT had made tea and that BB ‘s football had been cancelled due to the weather conditions.  He had been at rugby earlier though and I was met by a pile of very muddy clothes and a very mucky bathroom. 
 
This is an evening view along Princes Street, as I made my way to the bus stop.  The extra is a view of the empty office.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.