The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Big sun

I was curious this afternoon to take advantage of the low tides, and walk out into Morecambe Bay.  It was perhaps half a mile until I reached the first water.  There were footprints everywhere of people and dogs.  I'm sure there used to be a bit of a mystique about the Bay and its quicksands which discouraged people from walking far out from dry land.  If there really was a mystique, it's been dispelled now.  Was it significant that the only birds I saw ahead of me were a couple of distant curlews?  Or would we expect waterfowl to be deeper into the Bay at this point in the tidal cycle?

Whatever, we are now well past the point in the year when it's possible to see the sun set in the bay from here.  It had been an almost cloudless day, the sunniest day of the year so far, though still cool with a fresh breeze.  I managed to get some allotment time in, the first for a few weeks due to rain and a delicate back.  I was hoping the purple sprouting broccoli might be nearing readiness, but no it has hardly grown since I last looked.

Note for my reference, I deleted a long paragraph about the situation in eastern Europe.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.