Tranquille Tour

A jaunt in sunshine
is always the best to me. 
Nothing is better! 

~ carliewired

Coffee mug in hand, I sat waiting to see where the sun might appear behind my mountains. Just after 7, I jumped up to get the first sun rays. It's coming in over the saddle between Mt. Peter and Mt. Paul. 

I'd determined I was going to head out to Tranquille this morning. When I left the house at 7:30, it was mainly sunny, very calm and 1 C. I drove to the furthest point on my tour, the first landing above the Kamloops Lake. I could see down to the delta and across the Canadian National Railway tracks. 

I started back down the gravel road in 2nd gear. It is rough and bumpy with many potholes. I'm always surprised how fast the locals drive along this route. I always feel that I'm going to bounce right off the road. 

I stopped beside Tranquille River. It looked very serene with one large open space in the ice. I was surprised how noisy it was when I stepped out for a closer look. The open space is something of a reservoir for the melt. It is emptying quickly by flowing under the ice. It is definitely a babbling brook today. 

I stopped again just before the rail crossing where I could get a shot across Tranquille Farm to the river. I got a shot of the wetlands pond, now still frozen. 

My last stop was the feedlot/ calving pasture. It was almost 9 and the rancher was just arriving to feed the stock. There are many calves now and they are very active. Some are leaping and running around the nursery. 

I'm home again for the day. I will enjoy the sun streaming into my house. I would like a big pot of soup I can share with my daughter. 

The forecast is for a day of mixed sun and cloud with a high of 7 C. We might expect more sunshine in the next few days. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.