The Ponds Are Melting in the Barrens!

And now, suddenly, central Pennsylvania is having one of our first warm spells. Perhaps it is one of those false springs, to be followed by plunging temperatures, and snow, as it is March, after all. But hey, we will take it.

I strolled up to the Scotia Barrens in the morning and the news report is that the ponds are melting! I often show you the first pond, which is my favorite. But this is the second pond, and it is much bigger than mine (if you can even call it mine).

White ice was still thick on the pond, and there was a lovely white mist rising off it, as it melted. Thoreau said that a pond is the Earth's eye, and that may be true. But they are also Earth's lights, exuding brightness into the world. Water in any form can double the light with its reflections.

You may see a piece of paper tacked onto one of the trees on the right. That is a research statement, indicating that these ponds are being monitored by amphibian experts, and including their contact information. The ponds are coming alive, and soon these woods will ring with amphibian song!

When I was a child, I spent hours and hours each day exploring the woods and waters around my home in Juniata County, and around Lost Creek, in particular. Now that I am in Centre County (gee, didn't I go far!), my wild woods are these: the Scotia Barrens. (This is my closest walk to get to water.) And I am there every single time I can manage it. Oh, blame it on my wild heart. . . .

My soundtrack song is this one: Stevie Nicks, with Wild Heart. Here is a live performance version of Wild Heart that includes Bella Donna (music begins around 1:30). Here is a live version that is just a practice round, and oh my gosh, Stevie is so fabulous, even then!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.