Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

A day on Jura

The day started with a challenging dilemma. Just as I was checking my camera bag for an early ferry to Jura, the phone rang. Maureen, who was caring for Mum, had tested faintly positive for Covid. Yesterday she was negative.

I needed a quick, workable solution.

Sharon, bless her, stepped into the breech and covered lunch time and agreed to stay overnight, despite being understandably anxious about coming to a house where there may be Covid.

I booked one of the last four tickets for tomorrow’s early morning plane home.

A few calls were necessary. The group waited for me and we set off for Jura.

What a contrast to Islay. The land is hilly, boggy moorland. Deer roam the hillsides. There is one, single track road up the east side of the island. Thankfully it was not busy, especially as we ventured further north. I loved it.

We repeatedly stopped and piled out when deer were seen.

Instead of posting a more standard portrait of a stag, I have chosen one of a stag in his environment.

I heard my first extra before I saw it. This gorgeous mistletoe thrush (I think) sat calmly and sang.

my second is an attempt at abstraction using Photosplit and three images from a tractor.

It was a long tiring day but great fun.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.