Fruiting ivy.

Woke about seven and lay thinking of what I planned to do.  Next opened my eyes at after nine o'clock.  Luckily I was planning on a restful day. The usual bed changing, laundry etc. got done but so did a fair amount of lolling on the sofa with a book.  I had meant to walk down to Lower Maspie Falls but I couldn't be bothered. Took myself into the garden in search of a blip and in spite of endless flower photos I settled on some fruiting ivy.  If I'm honest I hadn't even registered that ivy fruited although I knew it flowered and was a good source of late nectar for insects.  Now I know that the fruits are very nourishing too and eaten by birds like thrushes and blackbirds.  Hope my resident blackbirds know that.  So I'm looking at ivy with friendlier eyes and have found out that it doesn't harm trees although I always thought it did.  After my blip hunting I began to do a little gardening and got carried away.  I've replanted a few of the Spanish bluebells in an little cut off area where nothing grows.  We'll see what they make of that.  Cleared most of my garden path of weeds and grass and bits of the borders too. Still a long way from tidy though but heading in the right direction.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.