Ducks at Bodnant

This morning’s trip to Bodnant should have produced a plethora of Tiny Tuesday possibilities - flowers, buds, bees - I even hope for an early butterfly. But I certainly don’t expect ducks…..

It’s another glorious spring day with roof-down driving and T-shirt walking - such is the warmth of the sun.  I decide today to leave the terraces of recent visits and walk with G to the Far End - probably a longer walk than I’m yet ready for, but I take it slowly. Bodnant is beautiful: fields of daffodils, pure white and pastel pink magnolias blossoming against the azure sky, bird song, trees, running water…… glorious. 

Reaching the Far End lake and resting upon a grassy bank, I spot a pair of male mallards  dabbling along, their emerald heads even more striking against the gold reflections of the water. Just as I’m photographing the scene, all hell breaks loose. A female has appeared and the two males hurl themselves after her. There follow several sessions of frantic, splashing competition, as they repeatedly battle to mount the poor female before she sensibly takes her leave. 

Thanks so much for your kind responses to yesterday’s West Shore mono. Tonight I’m struggling even more than usual to decide on today’s main. Static shot, or movement? In the end I go for the one that conveys something of the chaos! - though I may well change my mind! The others are, of course, in extras!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.