It was Mary's turn to lead so here I am seconding her at Windgather Rocks just north of Buxton.

I'd planned to go to the climbing wall with Steve today,  but he messaged that he didn't feel like it, and then there was action on the mountaineering club WhatsApp group so obviously I went climbing!

My legs were a bit tired and not keen on standing up on one leg, probably still recovering from walking thirteen miles on Wednesday. I had a go at a Severe route I'd led in 2017, but wasn't strong enough to do the crux move, so bypassed it briefly before getting back en route. Next time. Steve has been telling me that I should be trying Severes, and he's right because mostly it's just my head that says no, so today it was good to try one.

Six routes done, not bad at all. Pleasantly stretched and tired now, but I should be ok for the walk tomorrow  :-)

Edit: I forgot to mention that, as Mary and I were dismantling the belay and coiling the ropes, a man asked if he could take photos. He was a journalist for Trail magazine and said we might make it, even though it's primarily a magazine about walking!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.