Fairfield Horseshoe

Forrest had a plan to do a long run in the Lakes today, combining a familiarisation with the Fairfield Horseshoe - for the fell race next month - with a desire to get some steep descending and climbing into his legs. I joined him for just the horseshoe (10 miles and 3,000ft), letting him off the leash on the approach to Great Rigg, from where this shot was taken, looking back over the southern stretch of the ridge, Lake Windermere in the distance. 

He went on faster than me at this point and did an extra five miles and a few more thousand feet of climb. That meant that I could take a more leisurely descent back to Rydal, down the ridge on the opposite side of the valley, which left plenty of time for tea and cake at the cafe before running back along the track to meet Forrest. I didn't have to go far before I saw him coming the other way. 

I felt much fresher at the finish than I expected to be. Although jiggered with so much climbing, Forrest was similarly pleased with his form at the end of his run. Mind you, neither of us had much inclination to cook this evening and we ordered in a pizza. A special treat has to be earnt and we both felt we'd done that!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.