Through a lens darkly

By oojeyboojey

Up on the roof

There's a lot going on at work today. A large section of the first floor corridor is being cordoned off as part of the first stage of a major bit of building work. You may recall some of the preparations for this involved clearing out the storage level. There's scaffolding going up outside, and ominous clunking sounds resonating through the tower block. Also, the window cleaners are back today, chatting to each other in Italian and looking very devil-may-care.

I took this shot (very naughtily) of the first floor roof. It's naughty because I had to stand in an open doorway to take the shot, and technically you're meant to have a permit to go on the roof. I think it's a grey area since I was only in the doorway, but still! THE THRILL!

The structures you see before you are mostly air ventilation systems for the clean rooms downstairs, and a few scrubbers for the fume hoods in the Biophysics laboratory. Flat roofs are such a bad idea - this bastard has leaked every year for at least the last 10 years!

Because this is the first time I've tried this effect I will include a link to the tutorial so that I can refer to it later! If you use GIMP and want to have a bash at selective colourisation (I can't bear the American spelling, sorry) then by all means click on the link as well.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.