Life after Burradoo, NSW

By MountGrace

Persona non grata

My grandmother, Martha (1881-1978), was a bit of a character. I remember her very well. This photo (c1924) of her with her two sons, Trevlyn and Stanley (my father), is one of very many I have inherited. There was clearly another person in the photo, probably a woman. Whoever it was must have fallen out of favour with Nan because she has been cut out of the photo. I would love to know the story, but never will.

My family have always loved photos and I have photos from my father's side dating from the late 19th century. It looks as though they might have done their own processing by the irregularity of the border of this photo. Certainly, years later when I was a child, Dad set up his own darkroom in our tiny laundry.

Now that I have finished my 1984 project I thought it was time to try to organise all these inherited photos so that future generations will be able to make sense of them, if they are interested. I am also doing it now in preparation for what we are hoping will be our move to a retirement village in the not too distant future - downsizing/decluttering!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.