If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Great Haywood Marina

The day we leave Solace, so with a lot of jobs to do I was up early.  Knowing how busy the day would be I decided to take some shots of the marina.  While I stood on the pontoon a pair of Canada Geese flew noisily overhead.

So back inside for breakfast.  After a while, we decided it was time "The Mate" was up.  Knocking on the door brought no response.  Eventually, we went inside, shaking him couldn't rouse him.  There was no pulse.  999!  The paramedics decided he had died in his sleep and was only warm because of the bedding.

I don't know if I am being overly sentimental but I am torn between the geese being a "fly past" in his honour or his spirit joining his late wife.  Rest in peace Richard, you will be greatly missed and leave a huge hole in our lives and hearts.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.