Great Spotted Woodpecker - 71

I went into North Wales for today's football fix. The match was Llanfairfechan Town v CPD Y Rhyl 1879 with a photo from the game in the extra. Rhyl were league champions and unbeaten while Llanfairfechan were bottom so it was no surprise to see Rhyl win 8-0. The location of the ground is excellent, sandwiched between the railway and the sea and it was a nice way to spend the afternoon in the sun.

In the morning I went to Spinnies Nature Reserve which is a few miles down the road. I was prompted by Diane2104's photo of a tawny owl from yesterday. Unfortunately, although I saw the nesting box, there was no sign of the chick so, as she predicted, it looks like it has left the nest. Nevertheless it is a terrific location next to the coast and at least I got a good shot of a great spotted woodpecker on one of the feeders. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.