a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Tasting time

I've not been down to the local water meadows for some time, so I thought that it might make a nice change today.  I was also after a chance to see whether any of our local dragonflies have started to emerge yet, after the success with the 4 spotted darter yesterday.

I did spot a couple of red shapes flying higher up under the tree canopy, and they might have been common darters, but none settled anywhere near me on my travels.  Its a little bit early yet for the local dragons, but hopefully in a couple of weeks they should be appearing.  Instead I saw plenty of demoiselles and I took some shots of them (quite a few it has to be said).  I was originally intending to feature them for my blip. 

But instead the choice for today's blip was another butterfly - this is another shot of a green veined white, but as you can see this one is in full fluttery flight, heading for the daisy.  Butterflies are not elegant fliers, I always wonder how they manage to get anywhere, but they do seem to be able to get some speed on if required although their flightpath is pretty erratic. 

I followed this butterfly across quite a large meadow before I managed to get just a few shots of it in flight and facing me.  Fortunately, I don't think anyone from the village saw any of this strange behaviour on my part, so my reputation for sanity probably remains just about so-so.  The extra is a more traditional, nay, classic, take on the butterfly shot.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.