Rose Hill Road

Queen Victoria
gifted us this holiday
long weekend - enjoy! 

~carliewired

It's the last day of our Victoria Day long weekend. It's a good time not to be on the roads and highways. I managed to sleep in until almost 8 AM. I chose to drive the Rose Hill Road, from the north end to the south end. The sky looked cloudy and it was 12 C when I left the house about 8:30.

I did not meet another vehicle on my drive over the hill. Everything is looking very green. I made my first stop to look over the sagebrush down to the city centre and across the Thompson Valley to my mountains on its north side. 

A little band of four does crossed the gravel road ahead of me and jumped over the barbed wire fence. They paused there looking a little nervous, then two bounded back over the fence and moved off into the trees where they'd come from. I caught one doe giving me the long stare. Up the road the balsamroot is still blooming in cool areas. 

At the summit of the road I found another doe, this one alone. She gave me the once over, then scampered away. 

Angus cattle were on the open range. At one point a little herd wandered across the road ahead of me. I had no choice but to stop and watch. They seemed to be attracted by four horses that suddenly appeared in a pasture. The cattle wandered over to them and apparently were very curious. The horses did not take kindly to the interruption and nipped at the cattle if they intruded through the fence. 

I was home with a few groceries before 10 AM. I expect my daughter to join me for lunch. I need her help moving some items about and planting my annuals by my front door. 

This is the first anniversary of the discovery of 215 missing children at our former Residential School. Our First Nations are holding ceremonies today and our Prime Minister is expected to attend. 

We have a mostly cloudy day with a chance of showers and a risk of thunderstorms. The high today could reach 20 C. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.