The Tabby Assistant

I swapped work-at-home days this week, moving my day to Friday, since I took a vacation day Monday for a weekend backpacking trip. I was accompanied pretty much all day by my worthy assistant, Dexter the Tabby, who provided moral support and direction.

The only problem with this assistant - well, there are two problems, actually - is that he is an unmitigated chair thief! In this photo, he is shown inhabiting my 25-year Penn State chair which I was given a few years back. (The other problem is that this nappish boy is sometimes a bad influence, in that he tries to draw others into the nap. He's funny that way.) And yes, that pink blankie has polar bears on it. Don't judge me.

For a person who adores cats, alas, I don't have a long list of songs I know that talk about cats. There's that one about how the cat came back the very next day, that our good friend Jimmy used to sing, accompanied by his own guitar (Jimmy is dead now; he was dying of AIDS the whole time I knew him, but I still think of him, and I can still hear him singing it in my head) and a few more. Do the ones we've loved and lost ever really leave us?

The song that came to mind on this day was Keith Urban's tune about "take your cat and leave my sweater," and so here it is: Keith Urban, You'll Think of Me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.