Forfar Loch

I dragged BB out of his bed relatively early this morning, as him and I were off to visit my mum and dad.  We made good time up the road as it was relatively quiet – the beauty of being out and about on a bank holiday I suppose.  It was rather dull and overcast when we left TT working at home, but by the time we got to our destination the sun was out – though there was a wee chill in the air.  They were delighted to see us, and my first job was to take my mum into town to do some shopping.  We went first to a fish shop that has always been there, passed down through generations of the same family and then went to a bakers – also always been there and still in the same family, which got me thinking how many shops still survived from my child hood, and the answer is not that many.  We had a good wander right around town and picked up bits and pieces including lunch.
 
My dad was weeding when we got back, and was wondering where his lunch was! He was delighted that we had brought lunch back with us.  After lunch we headed back into town and went for a  walk around the loch.  It is years since I have done that walk and BB couldn’t remember ever doing it.  It was a lovely afternoon and I have never seen so many people walking around the loch.  The highlight was spotting a red squirrel, but it scampered away quickly.  When we got back to the car my dad started talking about tea – now I know where  BB gets his constant desire to know where his next meal is coming from, from.  We agreed we would have fish and chips – but later.  Once home, there was more tea and biscuits and they had a rest.  I popped out for a  walk around the local  roads and paths and spotted another red squirrel – unfortunately it was deceased.  Once back home, my mum ordered our fish and chips, and I headed back into town to pick it up.  It was really nice – no wonder my dad was so keen.
 
All too soon, it was time for us to head back home.  It was lovely to see them on such a lovely day.  The drive home was also lovely.  The roads were very quiet and it was still very bright.  We made really  good time, due to the lack of traffic.  BB was quite chatty on the way home. Whereas this morning he was not at all chatty!
 
A view across Forfar Loch to Balmashanner Hill.  The extra shows the swan family.  I think there are seven cygnets.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.