A day in the life

By Shelling

Flie away

My landlord decided a few days ago to remove all the manure from the cows house and to clean it for the season. It builds up to quite a substantial amount, for three days he's driven load after load away with his tractor and wagon. In time it ends up fertilising the fields. The downside is that fourteen biljon flies are now homeless, looking for somewhere else to stay. My house seem to be their natural choice and I've been invaded for a couple of days. I can't have my doors or windows open, at the same time as summer heat has arrived with temperatures around 25-30 degrees which makes it hard to breath indoors.

The solution is net-windows. I've made one today as a test-model to learn how to make them. I didn't buy proper insect-net because it's very expensive, instead I got a tip that IKEA sells curtains, almost the same as the net but lighter, white and to only a fraction of the price. I decided to try it and my first night with an open, netted window soon begins, hopefully the temperature will be more humane than last night. If it works I'll make a few more tomorrow. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.