A Woodland Collage

It was good to see honeysuckle flowering in the wood this morning - no sign of flowers in garden yet. Beech nuts are forming well and are plentiful. One of the many Speckled wood butterflies we saw on our walk, and I know that you will all be delighted to see some lovely yellow Scrambled egg slime - yuck!

My elderflower cordial tastes ok - just ok. I’m not blown away by the flavour. Last year’s was so much more flavourful, but then it had citric acid in it. So I’ve ordered some from Amazon and will make another batch when that arrives in a day or two. Without citric acid it only keeps well in the fridge for a week apparently, and even with sharing bottles out among friends, I would find it impossible to get through the bottle I’ve got left in a week. No fault to the recipe, it’s just I prefer to use citric acid.

In the woods this morning it felt like Autumn. There was no sun, it was very windy, and there was a real chill in the air. I wondered for a second if I had, perhaps, slept through summer. It’s almost the end of June and I just want to sit outside and enjoy some warmth, or even leave the door open without a chilly wind winding through the house. I’m fed up with this disappointing weather.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.