The second half of life..

By twigs

Another road, another view

Woke to a frost - not the type of frost I'm chasing but still cold enough to make getting up a challenge.  Once up, heater turned on and coffee on the go I began to plan for the day.  Hmmmm.........a visit down the road maybe, to Ohau C where I enjoyed some time last year?  Good plan.  This was the view from my rear view mirror as I drove down there (Noooo!  Not literally!  I stopped the van and got out to take this.)  The clouds looked a little ominous over the Ben Ohau Range, something I knew I needed to keep an eye on.

Spent a wonderful few hours down at the Ohau C camp - even considered staying  there tonight but eventually decided against it when the weather started to close in.  

I've previously been captivated by swallows on some ponds at home and I was thrilled to see dozens of them at the dam entry into lake Benmore.  Along the canal there are a number of salmon farms where the salmon have to be fed regularly.  There's always plenty of the feed that is never eaten by the salmon and finds it's way into the canal so it just drifts down the canal and into the lake much to the obvious delight of the local swallows.  Whilst I didn't get any good shots, it was a real pleasure to sit and watch.  I did manage a cool shot of a duck though (extra) - I hadn't realised I'd captured his lunch too!

Walking around the area was blissful - so quiet......so different to last time I was here......so cold!  Another favourite from the day in extras from one of my walks around the deserted campground. 

Back to the same camping, spot I stayed at last night but that bad weather that was in the hills earlier had arrived.  Nothing too heavy - some rain, a bit of wind......that rain may even be a little sleety now.  I wonder if there'll be some snow tomorrow?  Looking forward to another cosy night in this winter wonderland.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.