... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

Mallardling Mortality

Better in large ("L").

Hum, now there are only 2 mallard ducklings; they're dropping like, well, ducklings. Meh. They're still tiny and adorable, but there is progress because they are much more timid than when I saw them last (on Monday); it made them trickier to photograph today, but is a reassuring development. The mother and her two ducklings were dabbling around the edge of the pond, and I got this photo by moving about 50m along the edge of the pond and waiting on a pontoon (surrounded by reeds): I got this before they noticed me and scurried further away...

It is so funny when the ducklings put on a little burst of speed because they lift up out of the water except for their feet and tails (like something in a cartoon): I've uploaded a picture to Blipfolio here.

I'm setting off for Edinburgh this evening (overnight train) to stay with LadyMarchmont; I'm very excited about our extended blipmeet, and the change of scene. I've not been to Edinburgh since I was very young, so only remember random little corners, views, and moments which obviously made an impression back then. I'm packing warm clothes...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.