Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Blackneck

A new moth for me at Ben Rhydding Gravel Pits nature reserve: The Blackneck.

There were still a lot of orchids around in the two main meadows on the site, and scores of Ringlet butterflies, a fair few Meadow Brown and occasional Small Tortoiseshell, Red Admiral and Large White (first for year).

On the river the Sand Martin colony seemed down in numbers from previous years, there was a large gaggle of Greylag and a couple of Oystercatcher.

Getting there had been more eventful than I’d wished as the footpath went through a field full of bullocks and they decided to take interest in my progress. My strategy of steering off to the side and ignoring them was exposed when I turned round to find they were all now following me.  I had nearly made it across when they decided to break into a trot and the cartoon moment of dashing to and throwing myself over a five bar gate ensued. No physical harm done.

After the reserve it was time to head next door to the Ben Rhydding sports complex for the first pre-season friendly of 22-23, with Ilkley Town hosting Thackley. It ended with a 1-0 victory for the home side.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.