Life is a Challenge!

By Honeycombebeach

Spring-cleaning the Kitchen

Today is my second fast day on the 5:2 Fast Diet and I did wonder what I would do to stave off the hunger pangs. I have been considering clearing out the messy drawers in my kitchen, but today I decided to spring-clean the whole kitchen - and set to work at about 9.30 a.m.

It's now 2.30 and it is looking good, although I say so myself - and I have only just had my first meal - but I have had 4 large glasses of water, 2 mugs of fruit tea and a mug of Bovril, so no headaches, I am pleased to say. I know I didn't drink enough on Monday, so was determined to drink more today and to write it down, so that I am aware of what I am drinking.

So - what to blip - a messy kitchen or I could have even done a "before" and "after" picture but decided to blip this lovely little Promise Box which sits on my kitchen worktop. We have wonderful neighbours, and one of them saw this and thought I would like it, so gave it to me for my birthday. I'm not sure how old it is, but the lid is well worn - so obviously someone has used it before it became my gift.

I was interested in how they came about, so Googled "Promise Box" and found the following information:
A Promise box is a treasure of God's promises to you found in Scripture. It measures 5.5" x 3.5" x 1.5" and when you open your box you will find it looks like a honeycomb (quite appropriate for me then!) This is made from 140 small paper scrolls with a Biblical text on it from the Authorised King James Version of the Bible. (Apparently, there should also be a pair of tweezers to help lift the scroll from the honeycomb but there wasn't one in my box.) When you have read the text, re-roll the scroll and replace. You may want to use your box at a regular time each day or perhaps weekly (which I do) or just when you feel the need to have reassurance of God's Eternal love. Promise Boxes were widely used by our Victorian Ancestors and were given as keepsakes and some were handed down from generation to generation. Remember they are God's promises to you and should be treasured.

It was interesting to read my text from Matthew 11:28 "Come unto Me, and I will give you rest." I didn't go to bed until 3 a.m. this morning, as I had heard from my son, who lives and works in Vietnam that he was travelling up country from Ho Chi Minh to Dalat, a 7 hour bus journey, on the midnight bus and I was praying for his safety while he travelled. I knew that by 3 a.m. our time - 9 a.m. Vietnam time, he should have been there safely. I sent him a quick message on Facebook, saying I hoped he had had a good journey and then went to bed and God did indeed give me rest, knowing that my son was in His hands - so that promise came true even before I picked it out.

Reminded me of another verse:

And it shall come to pass that before they call, I will answer.
Isaiah 65:24
King James Version

What a great God we have!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.