Local street scene

I took my camera with me this morning as I headed off to the gym of a sprint cycle class.  Given that it is predicted to be one of the hottest days so far I didn't want to go back out again.  So I was on the look out for power transmission lines as I drove to the class.  I didn't see any on the way out and only one as I returned.  I drove around the local area looking for suitable ideas for the mono theme of power and decided that I liked this shot with the telegraph pole and wires running into the houses.  The postman is even walking into the scene but this isn't that visible in mono as he is wearing red. I couldn't quite make out if a small amount of physical power is passed along these wires to enable the telephones to operate but in another sense the sound waves generated by speech when using the telephone travel as waves of energy.

In the afternoon it was our bookclub meeting and we all met in a members garden where there was enough shade under a tree for us to sit comfortably.  After cool drinks and cake we got around to discussing our recent read which was On Chapel Sands by Laura Cumming. It was an autobiographical novel concerning her mother and the secrets of her past that were only revealed to her mother in later life. It was an interesting read for several reasons including how the daughter eventually pieced together the family history and how she interpreted the photographs of her mothers early life.  It was a little slow to read at times but interestingly it led to a good discussion with several of us reflecting on our own past family secrets and how the values of society at the time meant many things were kept hidden.

It has been a very hot today but we are lucky here in that the closeness of the coast has meant we are not getting such high temperatures as elsewhere in large parts of the UK.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.