Hornet Hoverfly

On the first day of the Met office Red Alert, Pete, Chris and I were out at Castor Hanglands NNR just after six, determined to get in a few hours of fieldwork before temperatures became intolerable. It was actually quite fresh and dewy when we arrived, and we were treated to the sight of two Fallow Deer stags and a hind trotting across the fen meadow in the early morning sunshine.

Surprisingly I managed to record twelve quadrats before the heat started to build - it helped that there was a bit of breeze to take the edge off. We then had an impromptu planning meeting in the shade before heading home just after ten. I spent the rest of the day entering data on the computer, with a fan to keep me cool.

By evening, it was safe to go out and wander round the garden. Many insects had re-appeared (they also tend to hide in the hottest part of the day) including my first Hornet Hoverfly of the year. I always forget just how large and magnificent they are! Once a scarce creature of south-east England, they are one of many species of insect that has spread north and east in response to climate change.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.